Weekend Coffee

If we were having coffee right now, we would first talk about you. 

Your interests, your aspirations, your plans, goals, beliefs, values, random thoughts, weird habits, impressive talents…if you’re willing, and because I’m better at listening than I am at talking.

See? Even altruism is motivated by self-regard. kidding…

But seriously…what makes you, you? I’ll be glad to listen, for “every [person] I meet is my superior in some way, and in that I learn from [them]” (Ralph Waldo Emerson).

And then, if I decide you’re trustworthy, we can start talking about me

I…already feel like I’m exposing too much of myself online so we can skip me for now. But if you’re really interested, I can tell you that I prefer my coffee black, if that says anything. Does it?

And then we can go back to you because I’ll start feeling uncomfortable

Or better yet, we can just stare at each other in silence. Whether that moment is awkward or meaningful depends on perception. People say a picture is worth a thousand words, but I’m saying that one glance is also worth a thousand words.

Looks can kill.

Looks can express.

They can deceive, and they can break.

If we were having coffee right now, I would probably be neglecting everything I have to study for, like I’m doing right now. But hey. They say that the information you retain and the experiences you encounter is worth more than the grades you make, right?

So…what is an average day for you like? I’ll be glad to listen, for “one of the most sincere forms of respect is actually listening to what another has to say” (Bryan H. McGill).

I respect your time. I respect your effort. I respect you. So what you have to say is important to me. And I’ll reply with a thoughtful response if the situation calls for it, advice if you think I’m capable of giving it, or empathy if you need it.

And then, if you’re comfortable, I might start talking about my faith. The only good in me comes from my faith. Without it, I am every trait that everyone tries to overcome. But with Him, I’m continuously growing and trying to become more like Him.

I’d rather build up one deep friendship than surround myself with a plethora of surface-level acquaintances. I didn’t think like that before. Maybe even two years ago, I was still in my ‘get to know as many people as I can’ phase. I realized that I’d rather be loved deeply than widely because it takes too much energy for me to manage both.

If we were having coffee right now…

Leave a Reply

